Re-accredited by NAAC with "B++" Grade



DST-FIST funded Post Graduate and Research Department of Physics is a leading research department in the college. The Department started in the year 1980, offering postgraduate course from 1998 onwards. University of Kerala had recognized it as a research centre in 2013.

The total number of permanent teaching faculty members is four and among them, two are research guides of the University Of Kerala. The research centre has 6 recognized research guides. The Department has a smart material lab functioning with types of equipment like XRD, Spin coating unit and Dip coating unit. A well-functioning computational Physics lab is also the main attraction of the department. The major research areas are high energy Physics, Nanoscience and Computational Spectroscopy.

Now, the Department of Physics offers BSc Physics (core), Complementary courses for Chemistry and Mathematics and MSc Physics. The open course offered for CBCSS undergraduate students by the department is Applied Physics.

ProgrammesDurationEligibilitySanctioned Strength
BSc Physics 6 Semesters +2 or its Equivalent 32
MSc Physics 4 Semesters BSc with Physics as Main 10